Mini-Review: Monster Vault 2–Threats of the Nentir Vale

Matt already spoilered this blog post before I decided 100% to write it but I love the Monster Vault 2 (“MV2”).

Your initial reaction to the name would be “Oh, it’s just more monsters and stupid tokens” but you’d be partially wrong.  Because there’s actually a lot more to it than that.

The book inside this “box set” (it’s not in a box – it’s some token sheets, and some gorgeous maps and a book in between) is pure gold.  If you’re like me and you’ve wanted to flesh out the Nentir Vale, this book finally delivers.  This answers to many questions that I’ve had about the map that came in the original Dungeon Master’s Guide.  What’s in between the dots on this map?

Nentir Vale

Besides a minor geography lesson you get answers to these questions and more:

  • What roams the Cairngorm Peaks?
  • What’s dwells amongst the Dawnforge Mountains?
  • Gray Downs- what’s that mean?
  • Witchlight Fens?  What goes on there?

Oh my goodness, so much!

It makes sense in a world that types of creatures would flock together and probably not completely intermingle.  If you wanted to go fight some orcs you might have some luck if you look around the Cairngorm Peaks.  If you dig hunting lizardfolk, you’ll LOVE the Witchlight Fens.  If you are scared silly of black dragons, you might want to reconsider the Witchlight Fens!

This book and supporting tokens and maps help you Bring to Life your world surrounding the Nentir Vale.*

I wish this book had come out 2 and a half years ago!  But I’m glad it’s out now.

* Yes, yes, I know.  “I don’t use the Nentir Vale- I use my own home brewed campaign setting!”  Good for you.  Yes you can use this book for inspiration and to adapt it to your campaign.  Do I really need to waste virtual ink addressing that? 

Buy this set- you won’t be disappointed in the least bit.  Buy MV1 if you need a huge breadth of different monsters but buy MV2 if you want to enhance your local game setting with richness, flavor and not have to do all the heavy lifting yourself- Sterling Hershey, Brian and Matt James and Steve Townshend did admirable work and, again, you can’t go wrong with this kit.

About Jason

Follow me on Twitter at www.twitter.com/priesmeyer Why should you follow me? 192 spambots can't be wrong- I've got something to say and it's pretty darned interesting. Topics include: D&D, Xbox gaming, Microsoft stuff, anti-Apple slandering and ranting, heck- the list goes on. But no, I don't want to win a free computer by clicking your link. Damn spambots...
This entry was posted in Dungeons & Dragons, Nentir Vale. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

